CATYOU (d)

So, since work on this project began, my colleagues family cat died and he never got the chance to mourn the past cats death. Here, on the left, is a diagram for an ethical play that he’s writing. On the right is a quick visual study into Nancy Cartwright’s evil Bart voice. I’m thinking of using Bart head motif’s for fruits and flowers, made of plasticine. Did you know Bart Simpson is only allowed 9 spikes on it’s head?

Anyway, so my colleague realises as soon as he finishes his latest essay that he was too busy writing to mourn the cat, and that the cat had crept in with duplicity. The next day he called me and told me everything in a hurry, we had to start making cardboard sculptures of cats and covering them in concrete. That’s great I said hey lets do it, let’s make girls and vampires too! I’ve got this Beautiful Plan coming up and we need more work in it. The cat statues and vampire girl sculptures, I said, would have to be Cat You’s, haunted concrete cardboard relics, spooky and fragile, gorgeous and flakey. On the left is the first/third sheet of Cat You plans, cardboard landscapes we could cover with concrete, decorate with moss and rocks and sticks off the ground. On the right is an exercise and a sad study into.

Covering cardboard in concrete works as well as you’d expect, or differently, it’s hard. Concrete is weird. When you look at it up close it’s as if you can make out a grid system within the liquid and it catches the light in peculiar twisted rainbow glints. It’s gray goo and it makes your hands go old quickly. Concrete is rendering. It’s weird rendered reality. Most of the sculptures were structurally unsound and collapsed quickly under the weight of the soggy, hardening gloop. This wasn’t a problem but it disguised itself as one for about 10 seconds. Then I remembered ancient Viking legends and myths where giants die or take naps, and became the mountain ranges and hills that mark our planet today. The cardboard creatures were doing this and enriching the world. Our Cat You sculptures were becoming Cat You landscapes. On the left is the second sheet of plans. We cut our cardboard into simple ontological shapes; triangles, squares. Then taped them together with gaffa. On the right is an exercise into my main thing. Be we Zee? Vanity + a Zero Aesthetic. Our Cat You sentinels will trap your soul in two.

Here’s the first/third sheet of plans, the diagram at the bottom on the left shows how a sculpture of a cat can fold out into a landscape once covered in layers of fully rendered concrete. I outline the similarities between cardboard shape cutouts and bitmap pixels, something I want to play with more and more. Cardboard can be used to act out glitches in reality now. Do I even want Pure Texism? I just want to be exec.

Finally, we’re left with my mans play plan again, and a study into PEZ dispensers, a place I want to have my head soon.

Leave a Reply

